Overview of Project

Hi, I’m Mercer Borris, Swarthmore College ’16. I am spending this year (July 2016 to July 2017) in Sweden, India, Japan, Qatar, and Botswana. During my Watson Year, I’m interested in exploring what makes a country “healthy,” and how that relates to the use and acceptance of medical technology, from mobile health solutions to advanced robotics. I’m interested in the contrast between urban and rural areas and across generations. Is there a correlation between availability of technology and quality of healthcare? If so, I think cultural attitudes towards both health and technology must play a role. As a future engineer, I want to know the anthropological aspect of medical devices, not simply the technical details.

Leave a Reply

