After a week

It’s been over a week now since I arrived in Göteborg, though I think it feels much longer since there has been so much that is new. I’m starting to love the apartment I’m staying in, the easy tram access to the rest of the city, and the long walks I take every day. In a few days, though, I’ll pack my bags and head south to the city of Malmö. This reminds me of my Watson interview, when I asked my interviewer what the most difficult aspect of his Watson Year was. He said it was the transitions – “finally getting settled in a place, only to uproot and move to the next.” I’m beginning to see why.

I’ll do another project post tomorrow, but in the meantime here are some photos that I haven’t had a chance to put up yet. The night before I left New York, one of my best friends told me to use my camera as my reason for being somewhere. I might have nowhere to go and no one to see, but if I’m wandering the streets with a camera, I can be an artist, a journalist – I’m going somewhere to see something. I’m on a mission to capture moments, which isn’t the same as being touristy. He told me when I’m alone, without big groups and away from national monuments and museums, my camera will be my guard. While I do feel awfully like a tourist sometimes (especially in the national monuments and museums!), I like thinking about what he said and feeling like I have a purpose when I record these moments.

IMG_0200 (1).jpg
This is Feskekörka, the “fish church.” It’s a famous destination in Göteborg.
IMG_0201.jpg
Statue outside Feskekörka.
IMG_0203.jpg
Inside Feskekörka – there was some very fancy fish here!
IMG_0205.jpg
I met up with Lahod and Georgiana again the other night and tried an elderflower cider. You can see a bit of Lahod in the background!

IMG_0292.jpg

IMG_0295.jpg
Not sure what this store is doing in Sweden – it reminds me of an east coast shore in the US.

I had read about the Saluhallen market, which is open every weekday in the heart of the city. I was looking for an outdoor green market, trying to see if that was a healthy and/or organic shopping method popular with any Swedes. This was the main result of my search, and to my surprise it was not at all like the farmer’s market I was imagining. First of all, it was indoors.

IMG_0296.jpg
Entrance to Saluhallen.
IMG_0298.jpg
A few of the shops inside Saluhallen. The whole market looks like this.

What I found inside was less like a green market and more like Reading Terminal Market in Philly, only smaller and more uniform. Perhaps it’s a bit like the food court in Grand Central Station in NYC. There were fancy lunch stations and butchers and fish spreads and bakeries. The closest thing I found to a green market was a group of stands just outside Saluhallen, selling a ton of flowers and a few berries.

IMG_0300.jpg
There’s also a sad bunch of carrots in a stall close to this one.
IMG_0306.jpg
I kept wandering to find an old-fashioned chocolate store in an adorable square nearby.
IMG_0312.jpg
Also in the center of Göteborg is Nordstan, a huge mall and by far the city’s largest shopping center.
IMG_0313.jpg
I found this in a bookstore in the mall, and I thought it was hilarious! Perhaps Sweden is too fashionable for Where’s Waldo?
Leave a Reply

