København (Copenhagen)

I spent Wednesday in Copenhagen, Denmark, just a 35-minute train ride (and passport check) away from Malmö. Though I wasn’t planning to visit Denmark, it seems to be the thing to do when you live so close. In fact, my Airbnb host commutes to Copenhagen almost every day for work (and she was kind enough to lend me her transport pass for the day so I wouldn’t have to pay for the train). I was mostly there as a tourist, but I also met up with a couple people about my project.

IMG_0878.jpg
Rides peeking out from Tivoli Gardens, one of the oldest amusement parks in the world.
IMG_0880.jpg
In Copenhagen, you’re never far from the water.
IMG_0887.jpg
I stumbled upon the Dansk Jødisk Museum, the Jewish museum, in the beautiful Royal Library Garden.
IMG_0904.jpg
A typical canal-side Danish street.

One of Copenhagen’s most famous neighborhoods is “Freetown Christiania,” an autonomous commune that seems immune to the city and laws around it. I don’t have any pictures of the inside because Christiania has a ‘green district,’ where cannibis is sold, with three rules: don’t run (it causes panic); have fun; and don’t take photos (it’s all illegal). But it was a fascinating place to walk through, with a skate park, sculpture art and graffiti everywhere, and multiple stands selling Bob Marley gear.

IMG_0911.jpg
Just outside the entrance to Christiania, where a gate reads “Beware, Here Be Dragons.”
IMG_0920.jpg
There are so many grand buildings in Copenhagen – churches, museums, libraries – and many statues and ornate fountains.
IMG_0931.jpg
It looks like this graffiti glows in the dark!
IMG_0939.jpg
The Inderhavnsbroen, a cycling and pedestrian bridge across Copenhagen’s inner harbor. (I ended up walking across this 3 times, once in heavy rain).
IMG_0946.jpg
I had lunch on “Paper Island” (Papirøen), Copenhagen’s indoor street-food market. It was crazy busy inside!
IMG_0971.jpg
The dome of Frederiks Kirke (Frederik’s Church) in the background with the side of the modern opera house to the left.
IMG_0986.jpg
Rosenborg Slot, a Dutch Renaissance castle in Kongens Have, the King’s Gardens.
IMG_1030.jpg
Inside the Rundetaarn, a round tower with an observatory at top and connected to the Trinitatis Church. It’s about 8 turns to walk up to the top.
IMG_1024.jpg
Down the center of the tower!
IMG_1015.jpg
In the still-functional observatory in the top of the tower.
IMG_1041.jpg
I ended the day with a glass of wine in Nyhavn, the popular waterfront neighborhood and, to me, the most classically “Copenhagen” area of the city.

Lastly, I did try to make a map of where I went on Wednesday, and got this:

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 1.29.56 PM.pngI walked at least 12 miles that day, took the metro a couple times, and crossed the same bridge 3 times, so there you go! Just off the map at the top-middle, by the Kastellet, is the famous Little Mermaid statue. It was too far for me to go just to see that statue (when I was closest to it, it was raining and the statue was still two miles away). One day though!

Leave a Reply

