Gothenburg sights: last blast

During my last week in Gothenburg, I did a “last blast” of tourism, visiting the remaining places on my to-see list when I wasn’t having project meetings. Now I can safely say that I’ve seen far more than the average Gothenburg tourist or even local when it comes to the city sights!

First, Mölndal. I was already in Mölndal to go to AstraZeneca, so that afternoon I decided to see its main tourist attractions: Kvarnbyn, the old industrial area of town, and the Mölndal stadsmuseum (city museum). Overall it wasn’t much to see, but it was still cute.

IMG_1380.jpg
I walked around Kvarnbyn for about 20 minutes. It’s a hilly area filled with old houses like this one (and a cat that followed me around for a while).
IMG_1387.jpg
The Mölndal stadsmuseum is conveniently located in Kvarnbyn and had an exhibit about the old chair building businesses there.
IMG_1388.jpg
The rest of the museum was actually just a warehouse of its collection, mainly household items from the past hundred years or so. A bit random, but at least the museum was free admission!

Next, I traveled to Korsvägen, a main square and transport hub in Gothenburg where some big attractions are located, including Liseberg. I went to the Universeum, a science museum with a “living rainforest” (regnskogen) and a few other science exhibits. I had heard great reviews, but I thought it was a little too expensive for the quality – or maybe I’m just too old for this museum! It was definitely for schoolchildren.

IMG_1444.jpg
You can see Liseberg to the left of the Universeum entrance.
IMG_1409.jpg
First, I walked through the animal and aquarium area, which had a cool sawshark.
IMG_1425.jpg
The four-story rainforest room is really the highlight of the museum. I loved walking on these bridges; this particular moment reminded me of the computer game Myst, my favorite when I was little, which had a whole world of tree houses connected by wooden bridges.
IMG_1441.jpg
I found an infrared camera in an exhibit about space technology!
IMG_1445.jpg
Another shot from outside the museum.

Also located near Korsvägen is the Världskulturmuseet, or the World Culture Museum. It’s fairly small and I only spent about an hour there, but they had a couple interesting exhibits. There was a photography exhibit about the Afghan burqa, which covers the whole body except for a net over the eyes. It displayed photos of Afghanistan through the eye net, showing how difficult it is to see and navigate the world with such reduced vision.

IMG_1447.jpg
Outside the free-admission Världskulturmuseet, advertising the photo essay about Afghanistan.
IMG_1448.jpg
The “Global Designs” art installation.

A few days later, I visited Gothenburg’s botanical gardens, a beautiful 430-acre area that was lovely to walk through (although not as large or fantastic as Longwood Gardens in Pennsylvania, the most recent botanical gardens I visited).

IMG_1512.jpg
Inside the greenhouse, next to a koi pond.
IMG_1540.jpg
The Botanical Garden was having a dahlia exhibit, and it was wonderful! I’m no flower person, but I had never seen this variety of dahlia before – they’re called ball dahlias and they are so much fun.
IMG_1551.jpg
A “pompon” dahlia, which felt like a sponge and was almost perfectly spherical. The exhibit had these in every color you could imagine. Isn’t this a hilarious flower? For some reason this type of ball dahlia entertains me enormously.

The Botanical Gardens are very close to Gothenburg’s Natural History Museum, the last museum on my list (really, I think I saw all the museums in Gothenburg. I’ll miss their policy of free admission for people under 25!).

IMG_1593.jpg
The museum’s main feature is this “Malm whale,” the only mounted blue wale in the world. People used to be allowed to walk inside the body.
IMG_1592.jpg
Close-up of the whale, with the original skin now nailed together.

On my last weekend day in Gothenburg, I visited the country house Gunnebo Slott with the family. It was like a mini-castle, with a sweet outdoors café – perfect for a fika on a warm day. I would love to live close enough to a castle and gardens that I could spend my weekends there, reading and drinking coffee.

IMG_5195.jpg
There are so many fancy homes in the Swedish countryside! This is the front side and gardens of Gunnebo.
IMG_5201.jpg
The back half of Gunnebo, much more colorful (and somehow sunnier) than the front half. There were more gardens and even stables in the back.
IMG_1611.jpg
On my last afternoon in Gothenburg, I looked out at the canal from Lejontrappan, the “lion staircase” (there are two lion statues at the top of the stairs leading down to this view). You can see the city museum off on the right side. I’ll miss this beautiful city!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

