Last month

I arrived in Sweden on July 19th, 2016, which means that yesterday – June 19th, 2017 – I began my very last month of the Watson year. At the beginning of the year, I noticed the 19th of each passing month, these milestones that seemed enormous at the time: 1 month in! Two months in! Somewhere along the way, I stopped counting like that. Then yesterday, it hit me again: the 19th. One month left.

IMG_8883.jpg
My favorite building in Gaborone: the Parliament.
IMG_8881.jpg
A statue of Sir Seretse Khama, the first president of Botswana.
IMG_8887.jpg
The winter sky of Botswana is so beautiful and clear.

My first month on the Watson was long and difficult. After the first week, I thought to myself that this would be the longest year of my life. I had a large, unmeasurable swath of unknown ahead of me, which was scary and exciting and overwhelming. I wondered if I would ever feel like I was on my way home. Within the first month, I stayed alone in an apartment without wifi after four years of the intensely social college experience; I felt myself undergoing various changes as I learned how to be alone and love it; I lived in two different Swedish cities; I lost two of my grandparents, and heard the news over Skype; and I began my project, meeting with strangers kind enough to give me some insight into their medical device work.

IMG_7869.jpg
On the campus of the University of Botswana.
IMG_7870.jpg
A sign on the university campus.
IMG_7914.jpg
Have you ever seen a wild monkey eat a homemade bagel? This monkey grabbed a bagel in a matter of seconds and scurried up the tree to enjoy his new and unusual treat.

Once I hit the one month mark, 1/12 of the way through the Watson, I felt like I had hardly made a dent in the year despite having already experienced so much. Now, at 11/12 of the way through, having one month left feels like nothing. It’s hard knowing that so much of the adventure is done, that the vast unknown has become something very known, measurable by photo albums and ticket stubs and friends left behind; but also thrilling knowing that this seemingly insurmountable year has been easier and far less lonely than I expected.

IMG_8035.jpg
Street-side stalls in Botswana sell hard candies, sausages, and the local “fat cakes,” dense doughy bread rolls.
IMG_8060.jpg
A pedestrian bridge in Gaborone, at the city’s main train station.

It’s weird how your perception of time changes so easily – how a month can go from being so long to being so short. Time flies by faster the older you get, and somehow the Watson has magnified that phenomenon.

IMG_8066.jpg
The white tiered building down the road is the Ministry of Health, where I sat in on a meeting to discuss funding for the national rollout of an mHealth project.

The distance between NYC and Singapore is nearly 10,000 miles. That’s the farthest away from home I’ve been this year. But Tennessee Williams said that “time is the longest distance between two places,” and that feels far more accurate to me. I just want to make sure I make the most of the time I have left, but I’m not too worried about it – I think Botswana is a lovely place to be for the next month.

IMG_8876.jpg
World War II memorial.
IMG_8886.jpg
More Gaborone street scenes.
Leave a Reply

